Baby it’s cold outside…

Posted: February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

You better believe that the weather is different here in Colorado!  So I hear about the mid 70’s happening in parts of Texas that I could be in right now, but I am here instead in freezing temperatures and learning how to drive in the snow.  It is all worth it when it comes to serving our Lord.  I have to admit that being here has weighed on me alot.  I miss the people that were in my every day life and even the  people that I didn’t get to hang out with alot.  I have thought about things alot lately when it comes to living here, so far from home.  With Joy having laryngitis still and going to the doctor I am starting to think about things such as, “what if something happens to one of us way up here?  What if I can’t find a job and Joy has medical things happen that keeps her from working?”  The truth is that the thoughts always come.  If I wasn’t in Denver and we were back home in the great state of Texas, other questions would be coming up.  Fear is something that has long been part of my life.  Anxiety is not something new that entered into the equation.

How does this all come together?  I moved to Denver in answer of God’s call to glorify Him and walk in His ways.  He has proven Himself over and over during this experience.  We went from having no money to being funded.  We watched as huge unplanned expenses have come up but donations came in and matched those within a day.  So with all this I have to look back over my life and enjoy the fact that my hope is upon Jesus, the Rock.  He is the cornerstone upon which everything is built.  As the leader of my home, I am still a servant that must understand this concept.

1 Corinthians 3:10 According to the grace of God given to me, like a skilled master builder I laid a foundation, and someone else is building upon it. Let each one take care how he builds upon it. 11 For no one can lay a foundation other than that which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. 12 Now if anyone builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw— 13 each one’s work will become manifest, for the Day will disclose it, because it will be revealed by fire, andthe fire will test what sort of work each one has done. 14 If the work that anyone has built on the foundation survives, he will receive a reward. 15 If anyone’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss, though he himself will be saved, but only as through fire.

In the end one thing is for certain and that is the things of this life will melt away but Jesus the Christ will still be upon His thrown and those that serve Him now will forever be able to serve Him.  That is my hope…. that is why fear, anxiety, and hard things that come along do not hinder Joy and I from walking in the path that God sets before us.  Our faith was placed in the work of Jesus and we are not our own, therefore, we are walking in light so that we may forever have this hope.

Matt Redman ” Carried by your constant grace, held within your perfect peace…  Never once, no we never walk alone.  Never once did we ever walk alone. Never once did you leave us on our own.  You are faithful, God you are faithful.”

Leave a Reply

