Verisimilitudinously Persevering

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

Verisimilitudinously?  Seriously?  Did I use this as a word in my vocabulary?  According to the Free Dictionary verisimiltudinously is defined as something that merely seems to be true or real, such as a doubtful statement.  Now this all makes sense to me.  So I guess that would mean that the title means seeming to persevere.  Ok.  I get it.  Now I can quit with the jargon and tell you why the title seems so perfect.  I find myself pinned up against the wall, either to have faith and keep pushing through the power of God or to keep at it on my own with little strength at all.

Moving to Colorado has been great but one of the hardest things I have ever done. PERIOD.  First of all I guess I should start by saying that I have no clue what it is like to be married, much less to get married and try to lead my wife into something that is so out of the box and crazy.  Yes, I have taken steps of faith and God has proven faithful….. but am I crazy?  Every moment spent awake I am fighting the evil one.  There is never a time in my apartment when I am trying to clean up, when I am trying to read, when I am trying to cook for Joy, that I am not at spiritual battle with the evil one.  All I have to hold onto is faith, wisdom, and to persevere.  This is a foreign concept it seems, though I have done this in my own life.  I must add that I have never had faith, wisdom, or definitely haven’t persevered on my own because, on my own, all I do is worry, have anxiety, feel depressed, useless, unworthy, and unable to go through life.  So how do I persevere?  How do I obtain any sort of truth, wisdom, faith, and clarity?  I simply plead for it in prayer and hold on to words of scripture.

I don’t know how people can go through life without realizing the simple truth that they are just appeasing themselves enough to get by in life.  I don’t want to be that way.  I don’t want to face this day or any other day without realizing the truth.  I don’t want to wake up tomorrow and have the same problem of wondering where my hope is and trying to fight myself through another day.  I would rather go through the day with peace because I have hope in Jesus because He already has taken care of me through the actions that He did on the cross and after.  So when it comes down to going it alone, or trying to do things myself, I am out.  I already give up because in the end I am dead without Jesus.  So perseverance?  Yeah I am persevering. I am not doing this on my own though, I am doing it only by the hope of Christ and through what He has done.  So upon my own power I would be doubtfully persevering or getting through my life on my own strength (which may or may not happen) but I am not doing things that way.  I am persevering with power because of Jesus upon whom my hope lies.  My hope is not in the things of this world.

James 1 is where its at.  Romans 8 has some great stuff too!

So today while being attacked by the evil one I will submit my right to worry, be depressed, or trying myself to make it through.  I will call upon the King that has made it through and will keep making it through.  That’s all that is needed on my part and all thats ever been needed.

Leave a Reply

