Thanks

Posted: November 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

What does it mean to truly be thankful?  I like to check myself, just like everybody else, and really reflect on my year.  I force myself to think of life through the lens of opportunities (taken or left behind), choices (wise or unwise), and did I make a valiant effort to be more like Christ this year?  How much has changed?  I like to look back at my life with my wife, relationships with family and friends, and where life seems to be going.  Sometimes I will post things trying to zap people for not being thankful all the time, but what good does that do? Through the last year in Denver, moving to TX, and the people around me who walk with me, I see evidence of change.   My eyes have been open more to this world and to the amount of heartbreak in it.  The need of Jesus has become even more apparent.  Things are changing like crazy but the gospel stands true.  I just want to challenge you, like I am challenging myself, to start doing this daily.  Instead of the list of things you are thankful for being posted to a Facebook status, or tweet, write them in a journal.  Go back and read those at the end of the year.  Some things will be minor and some things extravagant, but at the end of the year there would be 365 things written or more.  Wouldn’t that be cool? Most of all let us start being thankful for grace!  God has given grace abundantly for us who do not deserve it. John Piper’s devotion for the today is written about giving thanks…..  Check it out:

“Glorify By Giving Thanks”

It is all for your sake, so that as grace extends to more and more people it may increase thanksgiving, to the glory of God. (2 Corinthians 4:15)

Gratitude is joy toward God for his grace. But by its very nature, gratitude glorifies the giver. It acknowledges its own need and the beneficence of the giver.

Just like I humble myself and exalt the waitress in the restaurant when I say, “Thank you,” to her, so I humble myself and exalt God when I feel gratitude to him. The difference, of course, is that I really am infinitely in debt to God for his grace, and everything he does for me is free and undeserved.

But the point is that gratitude glorifies the giver. It glorifies God. And this is Paul’s final goal in all his labors: for the sake of the church — yes; but, above and beyond that, for the glory of God.

The wonderful thing about the gospel is that the response it requires from us for God’s glory is also the response which we feel to be most natural and joyful, namely, gratitude for grace. God’s glory and our gladness are not in competition.

A life that gives glory to God for his grace and a life of deepest gladness are always the same life. And what makes them one is gratitude.

Leave a Reply

