Undesirable Beauty

Posted: December 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

I woke up this morning with a fantastic song in my head, “Search My Heart,” by Hillsong United.   This song is about His infinite beauty and pursuit of Him.  This is our hopes of praise right? This blog isn’t about the many days that I have worshipped the Lord with gladness. The last few days God has shown me unbelievable grace because I would rather try to follow creation, rather than the Creator.  I wish I could say, since I became a believer, I have chosen to follow after the most beautiful, gracious, and most beautiful God, but I haven’t.  I have seen His face, have been redeemed by His blood, and led by His Holy Spirit, but there are still times I have fallen.

This morning I was hearing that song in my head, but I was also hearing the words of Hebrews 12.

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.  3 Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted. 4 In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. 5 And have you forgotten the exhortation that addresses you as sons?“My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord, nor be weary when reproved by him.  6 For the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and chastises every son whom he receives.”

I woke up remembering how great the Lord is, how He moves, His forgiveness, His grace, and His mercy.  He knows my heart from before the time I was in the womb, until the time I would sit here writing this blog, and even after.  So the question is : Why wouldn’t I desire His beauty, grace, magnificence, and every other good attribute of Him?  Even without His actions, his love for us, and history of what He has done, wouldn’t we still want to worship the God above all?  Today I am going to choose to worship Him for who He is.

“With all my heart,

and all my soul,

with all I am,

Lord I will follow you.”

Let’s walk together for the sake of the gospel, to make His name known, to preach the word of God, and to live life together as servants of the Most High.  He didn’t just die for us, but He gave us all eternity to worship Him.  “Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted.”  Let us not forget how precious He is, to run the race with perseverance, and let’s help each other desire Him more.  I pray that we don’t waste a life of worship on things less than the God of the Universe.  If we falter then let us help each other up so we may keep running.  Let the beauty of our Lord drive us as we go through our lives and help us as we discover more about Him.  Lord help us desire you above all.

 

Leave a Reply

